Countries in the Greater Mekong Subregion are working together to promote the subregion as a single destination for international visitors. The countries of the Greater Mekong Subregion (GMS) are: Cambodia, Yunnan Province and Guangxi Zhuang Autonomous Region of the People’s Republic of China, Myanmar, Thailand, Viet Nam, Lao PDR

The Greater Mekong Subregion strategy is to develop and promote the Mekong Region as a single tourism destination. In 2016 the GMS welcomed 59.8 million international tourist arrivals.

The business of GMS tourism is predominately led by private enterprise. In the PRC, Myanmar and Viet Nam, however, state-owned tour companies and hotels compete with the private sector

The GMS is characterized by an abundance of natural and cultural tourism assets with the iconic Mekong River at its core. Its mountains, valleys, and coastal regions contain pristine sea beaches, lush tropical monsoon forests, globally important wildlife, and some of the earliest known human settlements in Southeast Asia. Ancient and diverse cultural heritage including Buddhist traditions, religious and vernacular architecture, music, literature, and indigenous knowledge enrich the subregion and add to the appeal of its striking rural landscapes and vibrant urban centers.

Some relevant tourism resources on countries in the Greater Mekong Subregion:

Cambodia: VisitCambodia.net
Myanmar: VisitMyanmar.net
Lao PDR: VisitLaos.org and TourismLaos.net
Thailand: VisitThailand.net and ThailandTourist.net